LaHood names Adams to ITS Program Advisory Committee

by Steve Wagner on March 22, 2012

On March 12, Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood named University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Teresa Adams to the Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Program Advisory Committee (ITSPAC).

“We have seen tremendous progress in the area of traveler information,” says Adams. “ITS technology applications can enhance the efficiency of freight transportation and improve safety and security too.”

The ITSPAC advises the Secretary of Transportation on matters relating to the study, development, and implementation of Intelligent Transportation Systems in the United States. Members of this select committee make recommendations on ITS strategic planning and review proposed areas of ITS research funding to determine whether research activities are likely to advance the state of the art and be deployed by users. The committee also makes recommendations regarding the appropriate governmental and private sector roles in funding ITS-related research initiatives.

Print Friendly

Previous post:

Next post: