Northern and Southern Hubs

The CFIRE team takes advantage of regional expertise developed over years of prior activities by using northern and southern hubs to coordinate education, training, and technology transfer efforts. Research is done collaboratively across both regions, but dissemination is managed by the hub institutions.

CFIRE Consortium

Northern Hub

The northern hub is managed by the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and includes partners at University of Wisconsin-Superior, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, University of Illinois at Chicago, Michigan Technological University, and the University of Toledo. These institutions are located in states that share the Great Lakes system and have extensive knowledge and contacts in the agricultural and manufacturing sectors. The northern hub institutions also have experience with Chicago as a major distribution center.

Southern Hub

The southern hub is led by the University of Memphis and includes Vanderbilt University, University of Southern Mississippi, and the University of Alabama in Huntsville. These institutions have extensive knowledge of the inland waterway system, manufacturing processes, intermodal freight activity, and gulf and ocean ports.

Print Friendly